The future belongs to the girls – Scout24 opens its doors on ‘Girl's Day’

 

Berlin / Munich, April 25, 2016 – ‘Coding’, hardware, databases, Internet companies – all buzzwords from the digital branch. This year's Girl's Day gives young women an exciting glimpse into this often unfamiliar and new technical world. We’re going behind the scenes of web development at Scout24 in Berlin and Munich.

On April 28, at the ‘Future Day for Girls’ students can get an impression of professions in which only few women work. This especially applies to the digital branch. The percentage of women in the field of computer science is generally not more than 15 percent.

"Heterogeneous teams and gender equality are an integral part of our corporate culture. For example, our IT teams also consist of a large amount of women," says Judith Jungmann, Senior Vice President Human Resources & Communications at Scout24.

Scout24 will open its doors to bring awareness to the diversity of technical professions and to share experiences. At the Scout24 Group, ImmobilienScout24 in Berlin and AutoScout24 in Munich marketplaces, a total of 25 girls will get a glimpse into the work of a software developer. The IT team will explain and demonstrate their agile way of working. The girls will also learn how to create and design a website.

"When you think of computer scientists usually dark rooms, cola and chips come to mind. Everyone works alone with their headphones on and hacks away on the keyboard all day. On Girl’s Day, we want to show the students that working in IT as a software developer is anything but dusty and dry, but rather very colorful and versatile," explains Christin Westermann, initiator of the project for Scout24 and Software Developer at ImmobilienScout24.

 

About Scout24

Scout24 operates leading digital classifieds platforms in Germany and other selected European countries. The main operations under the umbrella brand Scout24 are the digital marketplaces ImmobilienScout24 and AutoScout24. ImmobilienScout24 is the leading digital   platform for real estate ads in Germany in terms of user access and dwelling time as well as customer numbers and ads.  AutoScout24 is a leading digital platform for automobile ads in relation to the monthly number of unique visitors and ads in Europe. Scout24’s digital marketplaces are empowering people to realize their property and car-owning dreams simply, efficiently and stress-free. Further information is available at www.scout24.com.

 

Media Contact Scout24 AG

Svenja Lahrmann

Instinctif Partners

Tel.: +49 221 42075 23

e-mail: svenja.lahrmann@instinctif.com

 

Media Contact Immobilien Scout GmbH

Jessica Kühnel

Tel.: +49 30 24 301 1023

e-Mail: presse@immobilienscout24.de

 

Media Contact AutoScout24 GmbH

Marion Modes

Tel.: +49 89 44 456 1380

e-Mail: mmodes@autoscout24.de

Die Zukunft gehört den Mädchen - Scout24 öffnet am ‚Girl’s Day‘ seine Türen

 

Berlin / München, 25. April 2016 – ‚Coding‘, Hardware, Datenbanken, Internetunternehmen – alles Buzzwörter aus der Digitalbranche. In diese oftmals unbekannte neue technische Welt erhalten zum diesjährigen Girl’s Day junge Mädchen spannende Einblicke. Es geht hinter die Kulissen der Web-Entwicklung bei Scout24 in Berlin und München.

Am 28. April, dem ,Zukunftstag für Mädchen‘, können sich Schülerinnen von Berufen, in denen bisher nur wenige Frauen arbeiten, ein Bild machen. Dies trifft vor allem auf die Digitalbranche zu. Im Bereich Informatik liegt der Frauenanteil in der Regel nicht über 15 Prozent.

„Heterogene Teams und die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter sind ein wesentlicher Bestandteil unserer Unternehmenskultur. So setzen sich unsere IT-Teams auch zu einem großen Anteil aus Frauen zusammen“, sagt Judith Jungmann, Senior Vice President Human Resources & Communications bei Scout24.

Um auf die Vielfalt technischer Berufe aufmerksam zu machen und Erfahrungen zu teilen, öffnet Scout24 seine Türen. In den Marktplätzen der Scout24-Gruppe, ImmobilienScout24 in Berlin und AutoScout24 in München, erhalten insgesamt 25 Mädchen Einblick in die Tätigkeit einer Softwareentwicklerin. Die IT-Mitarbeiterinnen erklären und demonstrieren die agile Arbeitsweise. Die Mädchen lernen auch selbst eine Internetseite zu erstellen und zu gestalten.

„Mit Informatikern werden oftmals dunkle Räume, Cola und Chips assoziiert. Jeder arbeitet mit Kopfhörern für sich allein und hackt den ganzen Tag auf die Tastatur ein. Am Girls' Day wollen wir aus der IT den Schülerinnen zeigen, dass die Arbeit von Softwareentwicklerinnen alles andere als verstaubt und trocken ist, sondern sehr bunt und vielseitig“, erklärt Christin Westermann, Initiatorin des Projektes für Scout24 und Software Developer bei ImmobilienScout24.

 

Über Scout24

Scout24 betreibt führende digitale Anzeigenplattformen in Deutschland und in anderen ausgewählten europäischen Ländern. Die Kerngeschäfte unter der Dachmarke Scout24 sind die digitalen Marktplätze ImmobilienScout24 und AutoScout24. ImmobilienScout24 ist in Deutschland die führende digitale Plattform für Immobilienanzeigen in Bezug auf Nutzer-Zugriffe, Verweildauer sowie Kundenzahlen und Anzeigen. AutoScout24 ist in Europa eine führende digitale Plattform für Automobilanzeigen in Bezug auf die monatliche Anzahl der Unique Visitors und Anzeigen. Die digitalen Marktplätze von Scout24 ermöglichen Menschen, ihre Träume von Immobilien und Automobilen einfach, effizient und stressfrei zu verwirklichen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.scout24.com.

 

Pressekontakt Scout24 AG

Svenja Lahrmann

Instinctif Partners

Tel.: +49 221 42075 23

Email: svenja.lahrmann@instinctif.com

 

Pressekontakt Immobilien Scout GmbH

Jessica Kühnel

Tel.: +49 30 24 301 1023

E-Mail: presse@ImmobilienScout24.de

 

Pressekontakt AutoScout24 GmbH

Marion Modes

Tel.: +49 89 44 456 1380

E-Mail: mmodes@autoscout24.de