Next level business model

Our business model: the digital ecosystem for real estate transactions

 

Twenty years ago, anyone looking for an apartment would open the newspaper and circle any ads that looked promising. That was when Scout24 started digitising property listings, a step that revolutionised the search for real estate. Since then, we have systematically evolved our platform. Our unwavering goal has been to provide the best user and customer experience for our target groups. In this interview, Tobias Hartmann, CEO of Scout24 SE, tells us how the Company will continue to achieve this in the future and explains Scout24’s strategic focus.

ImmoScout24 has been the leading online platform for residential and commercial real estate in Germany for over two decades. What is your strategy going forward?

"We’re steadily evolving from a pure advertising portal into a digital ecosystem for real estate. In other words, we’re becoming the go-to place for all real estate-related processes. It’s true that real estate advertising remains a key element of our business model. In the future, however, we’ll focus even more firmly on real estate transactions. From the point of view of owners, for example, this includes everything related to the sale, rental and management of real estate. In recent years, we’ve developed additional digital offerings for each of these options. All our customer groups benefit from this."

“We support agents in the acquisition
of mandates and help them gain more visibility.”

How exactly do your customers benefit from your expanded product portfolio?

"For example, owners can have their property valued by us free of charge. If they need assistance in the course of the sale transaction, we match them with the right agent. In return, we support agents in the acquisition of mandates, help them gain more visibility and grow their business. With TenantPlus+, we help people looking for homes find their dream property faster. We provide financial advisors and banks with leads for mortgage financing. These are just a few examples of how we’re taking our product portfolio to the next level for our customers’ benefit."

10 %

revenue growth achieved by Scout24 in 2021.

What’s the added value of the strategy for Scout24?

"These days, our customers visit our platform not just once to list a property or to search for one. They keep coming back because they realise that as a leading digital real estate company, we can do much more for them. This strengthens the bond between us and our customers – and it ensures an increasing share of recurring sales. Another advantage is that, with our digital products, we’ll address a much larger market in the future. Our revenue grew by 10 percent in 2021. We want to increase this momentum even further: in 2022 and thereafter, we aim to grow our revenue by around 12 percent per year. And profits will also continue to rise."

What role do the companies you recently acquired, Vermietet.de and immoverkauf24, play in your growth strategy?

"The two companies are a perfect fit for our strategy and serve to accelerate its operationalisation. Vermietet.de, which has been part of Scout24 since May 2021, is a leading online platform for private landlords. They can manage their real estate portfolio and their contact with their tenants easily and intuitively with a state-of-the-art software solution – for instance, creating rental agreements and statements of ancillary costs, coordinating maintenance and repair work, or tracking the development of their real estate’s market value. We support landlords not only during the marketing phase, but throughout the rental term – or, in some cases, across several tenancies. Should landlords and landladies decide at some point to sell, they know that we also have the right products to support them in this process.

immoverkauf24 has been part of Scout24 since July 2020. With our in-house account managers, we advise and support owners who are thinking about selling. If they wish, we can put them in touch with a suitable agent. Together with the leads provided through our Realtor Lead Engine product, we passed on more than 140.000 home owner lead to our partner agents in 2021. In that way, we helped them generate more business with tangible support."

 

Next level chances

HOME STREET HOME – finding a home is the first step to escape homelessness

Homelessness is a particularly stressful form of social exclusion. As the market leader in real estate, we want to help everyone put a roof over their heads. With the HOME STREET HOME collaboration, we are using our reach to provide information about homelessness and housing concepts.

Go to story
Next level efficiency

"With Vermietet.de we are creating a full-service, carefree package for landlords"

Go to story
Next level transparency

More transparency in the real estate market - thanks to the ImmoScout24 WohnBarometer

Go to story
Next level diversity & inclusion

"We want to create an inclusive environment for all people"

Go to story

Next level business model

Unser Geschäftsmodell: das digitale Ökosystem für Immobilientransaktionen

 

Wer vor zwanzig Jahren eine Wohnung suchte, schlug die Zeitung auf und markierte die Anzeigen, die passend erschienen. Das war der Zeitpunkt, als Scout24 die Immobilieninserate digitalisierte. Mit diesem Schritt haben wir die Suche nach Immobilien revolutioniert. Seitdem haben wir unsere Plattform konsequent weiterentwickelt. Immer mit dem Ziel, unseren Zielgruppen das beste Nutzer- und Kundenerlebnis zu bieten. Wie das auch in Zukunft gelingen soll und wie der strategische Fokus von Scout24 aussieht, erläutert Tobias Hartmann, CEO der Scout24 SE, im Interview.

Mit ImmoScout24 sind Sie seit über zwei Jahrzehnten die führende Onlineplattform für Wohn- und Gewerbeimmobilien in Deutschland. Welche Strategie verfolgen Sie für die Zukunft?

„Wir entwickeln uns mehr und mehr vom reinen Anzeigenportal zu einem digitalen Ökosystem für Immobilien. Das bedeutet, wir werden zur zentralen Anlaufstelle für alle Prozesse rund um Immobilien. Zwar bleiben Immobilienanzeigen ein wesentlicher Baustein in unserem Geschäftsmodell. In Zukunft konzentrieren wir uns aber noch stärker auf die Immobilientransaktion. Aus der Eigentümerperspektive umfasst das beispielsweise alles, was den Verkauf, die Vermietung und das Management von Immobilien betrifft. In den vergangenen Jahren haben wir für jede dieser Optionen passende digitale Zusatzangebote entwickelt. Davon profitieren alle unsere Kundengruppen.“

„Wir unterstützen Makler:innen bei der 
Mandatsakquise und verhelfen
ihnen zu mehr Sichtbarkeit.“

Wie genau profitieren Ihre Kund:innen von Ihrem erweiterten Produktportfolio?

„Eigentümer:innen können bei uns beispielsweise ihre Immobilie kostenlos bewerten lassen. Wenn sie Unterstützung beim Verkauf benötigen, bringen wir sie mit dem:der passenden Makler:in zusammen. Makler:innen unterstützen wir im Gegenzug bei der Mandatsakquise, wir verhelfen ihnen zu mehr Sichtbarkeit und dabei, ihr Geschäft auszubauen. Mit MieterPlus+ helfen wir Suchenden, schneller ihre Wunschimmobilie zu finden. An Finanzierungsberater:innen und Banken vermitteln wir Baufinanzierungen. Das sind nur einige Beispiele, die zeigen, wie wir unser Produktportfolio zum Nutzen unserer Kund:innen auf ein neues Level heben.“

10 %

Umsatzwachstum konnte Scout24 in 2021 erzielen.

Welchen Mehrwert hat die Strategie für Scout24?

Unsere Kund:innen kommen heutzutage nicht nur einmal auf unsere Plattform, um eine Immobilienanzeige zu schalten oder eine Immobilie zu suchen. Sie kommen immer wieder, weil sie erkannt haben, dass wir als führendes digitales Immobilienunternehmen viel mehr für sie tun können. Das steigert die Bindung zwischen uns und unseren Kund:innen – und es sorgt für einen steigenden Anteil an wiederkehrenden Umsätzen. Ein weiterer Vorteil: Mit unseren digitalen Produkten adressieren wir zukünftig einen deutlich größeren Markt. Unser Umsatz ist 2021 um 10 Prozent gewachsen. Diese Dynamik wollen wir noch verstärken: 2022 und in den Jahren danach wollen wir unsere Umsatzerlöse um rund 12 Prozent pro Jahr steigern. Und auch die Gewinne werden weiter zulegen.

Welche Rolle spielen die zuletzt von Ihnen akquirierten Unternehmen Vermietet.de und immoverkauf24 bei Ihrer Wachstumsstrategie?

„Die beiden Unternehmen passen perfekt zu unserer Strategie und beschleunigen deren Umsetzung. Vermietet.de, seit Mai 2021 Teil von Scout24, ist eine führende Onlineplattform für private Vermieter:innen. Diese können ihr Immobilienportfolio und den Kontakt zu ihren Mieter:innen mit einer hochmodernen Softwarelösung einfach und intuitiv steuern – beispielsweise Mietverträge und Nebenkostenabrechnungen erstellen, Wartung und Instandhaltung koordinieren oder die Preisentwicklung ihrer Immobilie im Blick behalten. So begleiten wir Vermieter:innen nicht nur während der Vermarktung, sondern über die gesamte Mietdauer – oder sogar über mehrere Mietverhältnisse hinweg. Werden aus Vermieter:innen irgendwann Verkäufer:innen, wissen sie, dass wir sie auch in diesem Prozess mit den passenden Produkten unterstützen.

immoverkauf24 gehört seit Juli 2020 zu Scout24. Mit eigenen Kundenbetreuer:innen beraten und unterstützen wir verkaufswillige Eigentümer:innen. Wenn gewünscht, bringen wir sie mit dem:der passenden Makler:in in Kontakt. Zusammen mit einem weiteren Produkt zur Vermittlung von Verkaufsmandaten, der „Realtor Lead Engine“, haben wir 2021 mehr als 140.000 Eigentümer-Leads an unsere Makler:innen weitergeleitet. Wir haben ihnen also ganz konkret dabei geholfen, mehr Geschäft zu generieren.“

 

Next level chances

HOME STREET HOME - Obdachlosigkeit hört da auf, wo Wohnen wieder anfängt

Obdachlosigkeit ist eine besonders belastende Form der sozialen Ausgrenzung. Als Marktführer für Immobilien wollen wir allen Menschen helfen, ein Dach über dem Kopf zu finden. Mit der Kooperation HOME STREET HOME nutzen wir unsere Reichweite, um über Obdachlosigkeit und Wohnkonzepte zu informieren.

Zur Story
Next level efficiency

"Mit Vermietet.de schaffen wir ein Rundum-Sorglos-Paket für Vermieter:innen"

Zur Story
Next level transparency

Mehr Transparenz auf dem Immobilienmarkt - dank dem ImmoScout24 Wohnbarometer

Zur Story
Next level diversity & inclusion

"Wir wollen ein inklusives Umfeld für alle Menschen schaffen"

Zur Story