Next level chances

HOME STREET HOME – finding a home is the first step to escaping homelessness

A new home is usually an improvement: a sunny roof terrace, a larger bedroom, the long-awaited dream of an own hobby basement. But for some people a new home is so much more: it means self-determination, privacy and safety. What many take for granted is often beyond the reach of homeless people for a long time.

That’s why ImmoScout24 has joined forces with the project for homeless people ONE WARM WINTER to launch the HOME STREET HOME initiative. The goal: helping people without a roof over their heads find housing. And the need is great: an estimated 678,000 people in Germany don’t have a home of their own. Of those, more than 40,000 people live on the street, without any kind of shelter. And the number has been growing for years – partly because of a lack of social housing and due to rising rents. The coronavirus pandemic has exacerbated the problem.

“Homelessness is a particularly stressful form of poverty and social exclusion. As the market leader in real estate, we want to help everyone put a roof over their heads. With the HOME STREET HOME collaboration, we are using our reach to provide information about homelessness and housing concepts. Because it’s not just about a lack of housing: many landlords have reservations about renting their apartments to homeless people. This is where we come in and clear things up,“ says Thomas Schroeter, Managing Director of ImmoScout24. To resolve concerns, ImmoScout24 highlights the advantages of renting to homeless people. Landlords not only empower homeless people to restart their lives, they also benefit from secure rents thanks to state social benefit entitlements, insurance cover for the properties and a fixed contact at the supporting organisation.

“As the market leader in real estate, we want to help everyone put a roof over their heads.”

HOME STREET HOME is an advocate of the “housing first” concept

In addition, ImmoScout24 automatically informs all landlords with apartments on offer in Germany or Austria about housing concepts such as Housing First, an idea that originated in the United States. First up, organisations and social workers help homeless people find suitable housing. After that step is taken, they then accompany the process of reintegrating and leading a self-determined life again. Studies show that Housing First helps up to 90% of people successfully find their way back to a self-determined life.  

90 %

of homeless people successfully found their way back to a self-determined life thanks to Housing First

“First and foremost comes the basic need for a safe home. Only then is it possible to start tackling the underlying, often complex problems together with the people affected and working through their strokes of fate. In Housing First and other housing concepts, the people concerned sign their own lease. They pay the rent themselves thanks to their entitlement to transfer benefits. That way, they already have one foot back into society,” says Marija Stojanovic, director of Dojo Cares, the foundation behind the ONE WARM WINTER initiative.

In addition to extensive information on the topic of homelessness, ImmoScout24 has equipped its listing platform with a special function: private landlords are automatically asked during the process of creating a listing if they would like to participate in HOME STREET HOME and potentially rent their apartment to a homeless person. Commercial providers such as property managers or real estate companies can also participate in HOME STREET HOME: all they need to do is insert the hashtag #HomeStreetHome in the text of their listing. Organisations and associations that support Housing First and other housing approaches are then notified of the housing on offer. Interested landlords can seek advice from the organisations and decide whether the homeless applicant would be suitable as a tenant. Refugee aid organisations can also participate in HOME STREET HOME.

It was soon clear on ImmoScout24 that the cooperation was making a difference: hundreds of apartments have already been listed to be potentially rented to homeless candidates. “We are very pleased about this success. But that’s not enough. We will continue the initiative to educate people about homelessness and to help even more people find their own homes,” says Thomas Schroeter.

High-profile support

The HOME STREET HOME concept has also convinced numerous celebrities. To kick off the cooperation, reporter Claire Oelkers, rapper Bausa, model Stefanie Giesinger, presenters Joko Winterscheidt and Jan Köppen, as well as other celebrity influencers set out to find an apartment via Instagram. Then came the reveal: they were not looking for a new home for themselves, but for a homeless person. Once the right apartment was found, the celebrities helped the residents furnish their new home. 

Next-level efficiency

“With Vermietet.de we are creating a full-service, carefree package for landlords”

Vermietet.de has been part of Scout24 since May 2021. Why are the companies such a good fit? Because they have the same goal: making processes around real estate as simple as possible for everyone involved.

Go to story
Next-level transparency

More transparency in the real estate market - thanks to the ImmoScout24 WohnBarometer

Go to story
Next-level diversity & inclusion

“We want to create an inclusive environment for all people”

Go to story
Next-level business model

Our business model: the digital ecosystem for real estate transactions

Go to story

Next level chances

HOME STREET HOME – Obdachlosigkeit hört da auf, wo Wohnen wieder anfängt

Ein neues Zuhause ist meist eine Verbesserung: eine sonnige Dachterrasse, ein größeres Schlafzimmer, der langersehnte Traum vom eigenen Hobbykeller. Aber für manche Menschen ist ein neues Zuhause viel mehr: Es steht für Selbstbestimmung, Privatsphäre und Sicherheit. Was für viele selbstverständlich ist, ist für obdachlose Menschen oft lange Zeit unerreichbar.

Deshalb hat ImmoScout24 gemeinsam mit dem Obdachlosen-Projekt ONE WARM WINTER die Initiative HOME STREET HOME ins Leben gerufen. Das Ziel: den Menschen, die aktuell kein Dach über dem Kopf haben, bei der Wohnungssuche helfen. Denn die Not ist groß: In Deutschland sind schätzungsweise 678.000 Menschen ohne eigene Wohnung. Davon leben über 40.000 ohne jegliche Unterkunft auf der Straße. Und die Zahl wächst seit Jahren – auch wegen fehlender Sozialwohnungen und steigender Mieten. Die Coronapandemie hat das Problem zusätzlich verschärft.

„Obdachlosigkeit ist eine besonders belastende Form der Armut und der sozialen Ausgrenzung. Als Marktführer für Immobilien wollen wir allen Menschen helfen, ein Dach über dem Kopf zu finden. Mit der Kooperation HOME STREET HOME nutzen wir unsere Reichweite, um über Obdachlosigkeit und Wohnkonzepte zu informieren. Denn es fehlt nicht nur an Wohnraum. Viele Vermieter:innen haben Vorbehalte, ihre Wohnung an obdachlose Menschen zu vermieten. Hier setzen wir an und klären auf“, erklärt Thomas Schroeter, Geschäftsführer von ImmoScout24. Um Vorbehalte zu beseitigen, zeigt ImmoScout24 auf, welche Vorteile eine Vermietung an obdachlose Menschen hat. Vermieter:innen ermöglichen nicht nur einem obdachlosen Menschen den Start in ein neues Leben. Sie profitieren zugleich von durch staatliche Sozialleistungsansprüche sicheren Mieten, einem Versicherungsschutz der Objekte sowie festen Ansprechpartner:innen bei einer betreuenden Organisation.

„Als Marktführer für Immobilien wollen wir allen Menschen helfen, ein Dach über dem Kopf zu finden.“

HOME STREET HOME unterstützt das Konzept Housing First

Zudem klärt ImmoScout24 alle Vermieter:innen, die eine Wohnung in Deutschland oder Österreich anbieten, automatisch über Wohnkonzepte wie Housing First auf. Der Ansatz stammt ursprünglich aus den USA. Dabei unterstützen Organisationen und Sozialarbeiter:innen obdachlose Menschen zunächst dabei, eine passende Wohnung zu finden. Ist dieser Schritt geschafft, helfen sie ihnen bei der Wiedereingliederung in ein selbstbestimmtes Leben. Studien zeigen, dass bis zu 90 % der Menschen dank Housing First erfolgreich zurück in ein selbstbestimmtes Leben gefunden haben.

90 %

der obdachlosen Menschen fanden dank der Unterstützung durch Housing First erfolgreich zurück in ein selbstbestimmtes Leben

„An erster Stelle steht das Grundbedürfnis nach einem sicheren Zuhause. Erst dann können mit den Betroffenen zusammen die dahinterliegenden, oftmals komplexen Probleme angegangen und Schicksalsschläge aufgearbeitet werden. Bei Housing First und anderen Housing-Konzepten unterschreiben Betroffene ihren eigenen Mietvertrag. Sie zahlen die Miete durch ihren Anspruch auf Transferleistungen selbst. Damit sind sie mit einem Fuß schon wieder in die Gesellschaft integriert“, sagt Marija Stojanovic, Leiterin von Dojo Cares, der Stiftung hinter der Initiative ONE WARM WINTER.

Neben umfangreichen Informationen zum Thema Obdachlosigkeit hat ImmoScout24 eine spezielle Funktion in die Anzeigenplattform eingebaut: Private Vermieter:innen werden bei der Anzeigenerstellung automatisch gefragt, ob sie bei HOME STREET HOME mitmachen und ihre Wohnung potenziell an einen obdachlosen Menschen vermieten möchten. Auch gewerbliche Anbieter:innen wie Hausverwaltungen oder Immobilienunternehmen können an HOME STREET HOME teilnehmen: Sie müssen nur den Hashtag #HomeStreetHome in ihren Anzeigentext schreiben. Organisationen und Vereine, die Housing First und andere Wohnkonzepte unterstützen, erhalten dann eine Nachricht über die angebotene Wohnung. Interessierte Vermieter:innen können sich von den Organisationen beraten lassen und entscheiden, ob der:die obdachlose Bewerber:in für die Miete in Frage kommt. Auch Flüchtlingshilfen können sich bei HOME STREET HOME beteiligen.

Dass die Kooperation etwas bewegt, zeigte sich nach kurzer Zeit auf ImmoScout24: Bereits Hunderte von Wohnungen wurden zur potenziellen Vermittlung an Obdachlose angeboten. „Über diesen Erfolg freuen wir uns sehr. Aber das reicht noch nicht. Wir werden die Initiative weiterführen, um über Obdachlosigkeit aufzuklären und um noch mehr Menschen auf dem Weg ins eigene Zuhause zu begleiten“, sagt Thomas Schroeter.

Prominente Unterstützung

Das Konzept von HOME STREET HOME hat auch zahlreiche Prominente überzeugt. Zum Start der Kooperation haben Reporterin Claire Oelkers, Rapper Bausa, Model Stefanie Giesinger, die Moderatoren Joko Winterscheidt und Jan Köppen sowie weitere prominente Influencer über Instagram nach einer Wohnung gesucht. Kurze Zeit später erfolgte die Auflösung, dass sie nicht für sich, sondern für obdachlose Menschen ein neues Zuhause suchen. Nachdem die passende Wohnung gefunden war, unterstützten die Prominenten die neuen Bewohner:innen bei der Einrichtung.

Next level efficiency

"Mit Vermietet.de schaffen wir ein Rundum-Sorglos-Paket für Vermieter:innen"

Seit Mai 2021 ist Vermietet.de Teil von Scout24. Warum die Unternehmen so gut zusammenpassen? Weil beide das gleiche Ziel haben: die Prozesse rund um die Immobilie für alle Beteiligten so einfach wie möglich zu gestalten.

Zur Story
Next level transparency

Mehr Transparenz auf dem Immobilienmarkt - dank dem ImmoScout24 Wohnbarometer

Zur Story
Next level diversity & inclusion

"Wir wollen ein inklusives Umfeld für alle Menschen schaffen"

Zur Story
Next level business model

Unser Geschäftsmodell: das digitale Ökosystem für Immobilientransaktionen

Zur Story