Next level diversity & inclusion

“We want to create an inclusive environment for all people.”

“What do you need?” This simple question by Scout24’s CEO at the time at a conference in 2011 changed the lives of Raul Krauthausen and Jonas Deister. They are the founder and managing director respectively of the Sozialheld*innen association (Social Heroes), which advocates for greater participation of people with disabilities and for improved accessibility. The answer came immediately: “An office.” Because until then, the association had partly worked out of laundromats, Berlin’s circular urban rail line and IKEA’s office furniture department, among other unlikely places. No sooner said than done. Soon afterwards, Raul Krauthausen, Jonas Deister and the rest of the team moved into Scout24’s offices in Berlin – where they remain to this day, even after the move into the new building at Berlin’s main railway station. In addition to the premises, Scout24 provides the association with technical infrastructure and expertise. “We started to develop strategies and plans for the first time and to receive visitors. We organised ourselves better and became more productive and professional. This was only possible thanks to this new permanent base and the other structures on site, which we are able to use at any time,” Jonas Deister says in retrospect. In the meantime, the association has grown considerably: from 5 in the beginning to almost 30 team members by now.

And as befits a good partnership, both sides benefit: the Social Heroes help us make our products and services even more accessible for people with mobility and visual impairments. Take, for example, the integration on ImmoScout24 of what we call the “wheelmap”: a map indicating wheelchair-accessible locations. In addition, the Social Heroes help us to raise awareness about inclusion – for instance, with the “Inclusion of people with disabilities” day that we organised together in 2021. In three digital sessions, Scout24 employees were able to learn more about the topics “Work and disability”, “Disability in language and imagery” and “Digital accessibility”.

“First, we analysed the areas in which we specifically see a need for action.”

“At Scout24, we have set out on the path to an inclusive and values-based culture. The long-standing partnership with the Social Heroes helps us along the way and sensitises us again and again to be aware of and think about the needs and demands of people with disabilities,” Sabine Würkner says. She is Head of Culture, Development, Diversity & Inclusion at Scout24 and coordinates all related initiatives. In addition to the key topics of accessibility and inclusion of people with disabilities, the focus in 2021 was on diversity. “In order to address the issue strategically, we analysed the areas in which we see a specific need for action and set ourselves ambitious targets in this respect.”

One of the goals: by the end of 2021, one in two new hires should be female or non-binary, meaning that they don’t or only partially identify with the binary genders. “To achieve this goal, we have reorganised some internal processes, especially in recruiting. In addition to trainings to raise awareness among our recruiters and hiring managers, we used gender-neutral language in all job postings.” The initiatives had an impact: At the end of 2021, 55 percent of new hires were female or non-binary.

“For us, diversity is more than gender.

However, Scout24 has not only converted its job advertisements to gender-neutral and inclusive language, but also more than 90 percent of its other information and communication content – for example, internal mailings, newsletters and the company website. This is a manifestation of our commitment to diversity, tolerance and inclusion. Because language has a big impact, especially in the small and everyday. With inclusive wording, we address not only women and men equally, but additionally non-binary people.

Diversity in practice should also be reflected at the top of the Company. That is why another of Scout24’s goals was to increase diversity in the Company’s management positions – from 30 percent to 37 percent. We achieved this goal by the end of the year. In the long term, we would like to increase this figure to 43 percent by the end of 2026. With Claudia Viehweger as Chief Human Resources Officer and Rowena Patrao as Chief Technology Officer, we were able to recruit two women for important management positions in the Group. In these functions, they are members of our executive leadership team. This means that two out of seven positions, or just under 29 percent of the executive leadership team, are held by women. This also underscores our progress on diversity.

55 %
of new hires were female or non-binary at the end of 2021.
37 %
of the managers at Scout24 are women and non-binary people.

“We want to reinforce a culture where everyone feels valued, respected and safe.”


“For us, diversity is more than gender. We want to create an inclusive environment for all people – regardless of their ethnicity, the colour of their skin, gender, sexual identity, age, religion, disability, nationality or any other attributes. At Scout24, we want to create and reinforce a culture in which everyone feels equally valued, respected and confident to be themselves,” Sabine Würkner says. Our goal is therefore for one in four new hires to cover another diversity dimension beyond gender, such as nationality or disability.

But if we aim to make a lasting difference, purely measurable goals for diversity and inclusion are not enough. The topic has to be encoded in the DNA and lived in daily work. To this end, we have launched other initiatives in addition to Disability Day. For Diversity Week, we offered training and presentations on topics such as “Living and working with ADHD and autism” and “How to combat structural racism.” For Pride Week, all colleagues were invited to an LGBTIQ+ diversity training to learn more about sexual orientation and gender identity and to support the LGBTIQ+ community at Scout24.

“We can be proud of what we’ve accomplished in diversity and inclusion in 2021: we have raised awareness about an inclusive work environment, promoted the diversity of our teams and increased the share of women throughout the Company as well as in management positions. Our ambition is to continue on this path in the coming years and to champion diversity and inclusion beyond the boundaries of our company,” Sabine Würkner says.

Next level chances

HOME STREET HOME – finding a home is the first step to escape homelessness

Homelessness is a particularly stressful form of social exclusion. As the market leader in real estate, we want to help everyone put a roof over their heads. With the HOME STREET HOME collaboration, we are using our reach to provide information about homelessness and housing concepts.

Go to Story
Next level efficiency

"With Vermietet.de we are creating a full-service, carefree package for landlords"

Zur Story
Next level transparency

More transparency in the real estate market - thanks to the ImmoScout24 WohnBarometer

Go to Story
Next level business model

Our business model: the digital ecosystem for real estate transactions

Go to story

Next level diversity & inclusion

„Wir wollen ein inklusives Umfeld für alle Menschen schaffen.“

„Was braucht ihr?“ Diese simple Frage des damaligen Scout24-CEOs auf einer Konferenz 2011 veränderte das Leben von Raúl Krauthausen und Jonas Deister. Die beiden sind Gründer beziehungsweise Geschäftsführer des Vereins Sozialheld*innen, der sich für mehr Teilhabe von Menschen mit Behinderung sowie Barrierefreiheit einsetzt. Die Antwort kam prompt: „Ein Büro.“ Denn bis dahin hatte der Verein teilweise in Waschsalons, in der Berliner Ringbahn, der Büroabteilung von IKEA und an anderen ungewöhnlichen Orten gearbeitet. Gesagt, getan. Kurze Zeit später zogen Raúl Krauthausen, Jonas Deister und der Rest des Teams in die Büroräume von Scout24 in Berlin – wo sie bis heute, auch nach dem Umzug in das neue Gebäude am Berliner Hauptbahnhof, geblieben sind. Neben den Räumlichkeiten stellt Scout24 dem Verein die technische Infrastruktur sowie technisches Know-how zur Verfügung. „Wir begannen, erstmals Strategien und Pläne zu erarbeiten und Gäste zu empfangen. Wir organisierten uns besser und wurden so produktiver und professioneller. Das war nur möglich dank dieser neuen festen Anlaufstelle und der übrigen Strukturen vor Ort, die wir jederzeit mitnutzen durften“, blickt Jonas Deister zurück. Mittlerweile ist der Verein stark gewachsen: von anfangs fünf auf mittlerweile fast 30 Teammitglieder.

Und wie es sich für eine gute Partnerschaft gehört, profitieren beide Seiten: Die Sozialheld*innen unterstützen uns dabei, unsere Produkte und Dienstleistungen für Menschen mit Mobilitäts- und Seheinschränkungen noch besser zugänglich zu machen. Ein Beispiel ist die Integration der sogenannten Wheelmap – einer Karte für rollstuhlgerechte Orte – auf ImmoScout24. Zudem helfen uns die Sozialheld*innen dabei, den Blick und das Bewusstsein für Inklusion zu schärfen. Beispielsweise mit dem Aktionstag „Inklusion von Menschen mit Behinderung“, den wir 2021 gemeinsam veranstaltet haben. In drei digitalen Sessions konnten die Scout24-Mitarbeiter:innen mehr über die Themen „Arbeit und Behinderung“, „Behinderung in Sprache und Bildsprache“ sowie „digitale Barrierefreiheit“ lernen.

„Zunächst haben wir analysiert, in welchen Bereichen wir konkret Handlungsbedarf sehen.“

„Wir haben uns bei Scout24 auf den Weg zu einer inklusiven und werteorientierten Kultur gemacht. Die langjährige Partnerschaft mit den Sozialheld*innen unterstützt uns dabei und sensibilisiert immer wieder aufs Neue dafür, die Bedürfnisse und Ansprüche von Menschen mit Behinderungen wahrzunehmen und mitzudenken“, erklärt Sabine Würkner. Sie ist Head of Culture, Development, Diversity & Inclusion bei Scout24 und koordiniert alle Initiativen in diesem Bereich. Neben den Schwerpunktthemen „Barrierefreiheit“ und „Inklusion von Menschen mit Behinderung“ lag 2021 der Fokus auf Vielfalt. „Um das Thema strategisch anzugehen, haben wir analysiert, in welchen Bereichen wir konkret Handlungsbedarf sehen, und uns dafür ehrgeizige Ziele gesetzt.“

Eines dieser Ziele: Bis Ende 2021 sollte jede:r zweite neueingestellte Mitarbeiter:in weiblich oder nichtbinär sein, sich also nicht oder nur teilweise mit den binären Geschlechtern identifizieren. „Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, haben wir einige interne Prozesse umgestellt, vor allem im Recruiting. Neben Schulungen zur Sensibilisierung unserer Recruiter:innen und Hiring Manager haben wir in allen Stellenausschreibungen genderneutrale Sprache verwendet.“ Die Initiativen zeigten Wirkung: Ende 2021 waren 55 Prozent der neueingestellten Mitarbeiter:innen weiblich oder nichtbinär.

„Für uns ist Vielfalt mehr als das Geschlecht.“

Doch Scout24 hat nicht nur die Stellenausschreibungen auf genderneutrale und inklusive Sprache umgestellt, sondern auch über 90 Prozent der sonstigen Informations- und Kommunikationsinhalte – also beispielsweise interne Mailings, Newsletter oder die Unternehmenswebsite. Damit bekennen wir uns zu Vielfalt, Toleranz und Inklusion. Denn Sprache hat eine große Wirkung, vor allem im Kleinen und Alltäglichen. Mit inklusiven Formulierungen sprechen wir nicht nur Frauen und Männer gleichermaßen an, sondern zusätzlich auch nichtbinäre Menschen.

Gelebte Vielfalt sollte sich auch an der Unternehmensspitze wiederfinden. Deshalb war ein weiteres Ziel von Scout24, die Vielfalt in den Führungspositionen des Unternehmens zu erhöhen – von 30 Prozent auf 37 Prozent. Dieses Ziel haben wir zum Jahresende erreicht. Perspektivisch möchten wir den Wert bis Ende 2026 auf 43 Prozent erhöhen. Mit Claudia Viehweger als Chief Human Resources Officer und Rowena Patrao als Chief Technology Officer konnten wir für wichtige Führungspositionen der Gruppe zwei Frauen gewinnen, die in diesen Funktionen Mitglieder unseres Executive Leadership Teams sind. Damit sind zwei von sieben Positionen und somit knapp 29 Prozent des Executive Leadership Teams von Frauen besetzt. Auch dies unterstreicht unsere Fortschritte bei der Diversity.

55 %
der neueingestellten Mitarbeiter:innen waren Ende 2021 weiblich oder nichtbinär.
37 %
der Führungskräfte bei Scout24 sind Frauen und nichtbinäre Menschen.

„Wir wollen eine Kultur festigen, in der sich alle geschätzt, respektiert und sicher fühlen.“


„Für uns ist Vielfalt mehr als das Geschlecht. Wir wollen ein inklusives Umfeld für alle Menschen schaffen – unabhängig von ethnischer Herkunft, Hautfarbe, Geschlecht, sexueller Identität, Alter, Religion, Behinderung, Staatsangehörigkeit oder anderen Merkmalen. Bei Scout24 wollen wir eine Kultur schaffen und festigen, in der sich alle gleichermaßen geschätzt, respektiert und sicher fühlen, sie selbst zu sein“, erklärt Sabine Würkner. Daher ist es unser Ziel, dass jede:r vierte neueingestellte Mitarbeiter:in eine weitere Diversitätsdimension abdeckt, die über das Geschlecht hinaus geht – wie etwa Nationalität oder Behinderung.

Doch um nachhaltig etwas zu verändern, reichen rein messbare Ziele für Diversität und Inklusion nicht aus. Das Thema muss in der DNA verankert sein und in der täglichen Arbeit gelebt werden. Hierfür haben wir neben dem Aktionstag zum Thema „Behinderung“ weitere Initiativen gestartet. Zur Diversity Week haben wir Schulungen und Vorträge zu Themen wie „Leben und Arbeiten mit ADHS und Autismus“ oder „Wie bekämpft man strukturellen Rassismus?“ angeboten. Zur Pride Week wurden alle Kolleg:innen zu einem LGBTIQ+ Diversity Training eingeladen, um mehr über sexuelle Orientierung und geschlechtliche Identität zu erfahren und die LGBTIQ+ Community bei Scout24 zu unterstützen.

„Wir können stolz sein auf das, was wir 2021 bei Diversität und Inklusion erreicht haben: Wir haben das Bewusstsein für ein inklusives Arbeitsumfeld geschärft, die Vielfalt unserer Teams gefördert und den Frauenanteil im gesamten Unternehmen wie auch in Führungspositionen erhöht. Unser Anspruch ist es, diesen Weg auch in den kommenden Jahren weiterzugehen und uns über die Grenzen unseres Unternehmens hinaus für Vielfalt und Inklusion einzusetzen“, sagt Sabine Würkner.

Next level chances

HOME STREET HOME - Obdachlosigkeit hört da auf, wo Wohnen wieder anfängt

Obdachlosigkeit ist eine besonders belastende Form der sozialen Ausgrenzung. Als Marktführer für Immobilien wollen wir allen Menschen helfen, ein Dach über dem Kopf zu finden. Mit der Kooperation HOME STREET HOME nutzen wir unsere Reichweite, um über Obdachlosigkeit und Wohnkonzepte zu informieren.

Zur Story
Next level efficiency

"Mit Vermietet.de schaffen wir ein Rundum-Sorglos-Paket für Vermieter:innen"

Zur Story
Next level transparency

Mehr Transparenz auf dem Immobilienmarkt - dank dem ImmoScout24 Wohnbarometer

Zur Story
Next level business model

Unser Geschäftsmodell: das digitale Ökosystem für Immobilientransaktionen

Zur Story