Next level transparency

More transparency in the real estate market – thanks to the ImmoScout24 WohnBarometer

Real estate boom, housing shortage, rising prices: many parts of Germany are experiencing a tight real estate market. Anybody who has been looking for an apartment or a house in recent years will be keenly aware of that, but it is also common knowledge in the meantime – you need only look at the headlines of media articles on the real estate market. But why are real estate prices still rising in many regions? How have prices developed in Germany in recent months? And what can we expect in the next twelve months?

At ImmoScout24, we provide answers to these questions. With data and facts that create transparency and provide guidance – for example, with our ImmoScout24 Housing Barometer (“WohnBarometer”). Once a quarter, we make our Housing Barometer available to the public free of charge. Kristian Kehlert, among others, is responsible for the Housing Barometer and other market analyses. Together with his Data & Analytics team, he evaluates thousands of data and presents them in a way that is easy to understand.

What is the ImmoScout24 Housing Barometer and how did it come about?

The Housing Barometer is a market report on the price development of residential real estate in Germany. It evolved from our IMX index, which we introduced over ten years ago. That index was based on data from more than 15 million listings posted on our platform, from rental apartments to single-family homes. However, as the name suggests, this price index only gave you an index value. For people who don’t deal with real estate data on a day-to-day basis, it wasn’t particularly helpful. That’s why we’ve taken the IMX to the next level and released a better and more intuitive version in 2021 under the new name “WohnBarometer”.

What’s the advantage of the ImmoScout24 Housing Barometer over the IMX index?

The big advantage is that the Housing Barometer reflects the price development of residential real estate in terms of real asking prices and not in abstract index values. We have also added a supply-demand indicator to the Housing Barometer. In this way, we show transparently the interdependence between the development of prices and demand. And because we wanted to do more than merely shed light on the past, we added a sophisticated pricing forecast. This shows how prices will develop over the next twelve months and can answer questions like “Can I still afford to live in this city?” or “Where could I afford to live in the future?”. Like the IMX, the Housing Barometer continues to be based on our extensive listing data and covers over 8.5 million ImmoScout24 listings from the last five years.

The calculation of the ImmoScout24 Housing Barometer

The calculation is based on reference properties for the respective property type under consideration. For apartments for sale, for example, we take a three-room apartment with 80 square meters of living space as a basis. For rental apartments, it is a two-room existing apartment with 70 square meters, because that’s the more relevant kind of property in the rental market. The prices are calculated by an algorithm backed by machine learning. To determine demand, we look at the contact requests received within a week per advertisement. We also standardise the value to compensate for different listing periods of the properties.

8,5
million ImmoScout24 listings from the last five years are included in the data tool.
100
German cities to be included in the Housing Barometer in the future.

Why are market reports like the ImmoScout24 Housing Barometer so important?

For many people, buying or selling real estate is among the most important and emotional decisions they will make in their life. It’s a decision that needs to be thought through carefully and made based on sound information. The ImmoScout24 Housing Barometer gives consumers a feel for the real estate market and an initial indication of prices. With our data and facts, we provide transparency and guidance and help people make decisions. For journalists, our market reports provide important information for their reporting on the real estate market in Germany.

What have you got planned for the Housing Barometer going forward?

One major issue is the regional focus of the report. Germany is characterised by many regional centres and different developments. We have an “urban-rural divide”: what is true for cities and often dominates the headlines need not be of great relevance for rural regions. We want a more differentiated picture that takes account of Germany’s structure. With this in mind, we plan to expand the analysis to include up to 100 German cities in the future and to focus on certain regions.

43 million properties in just one data tool – the free Price Atlas

In addition to the Housing Barometer, we offer a range of other analytics and data tools that provide transparency and guidance in the real estate market. Take, for example, the Price Atlas. In contrast to the Housing Barometer, which provides a general overview, the Price Atlas provides our users with specific information on purchase and rental prices as well as price trends for every address and district throughout Germany. Based on the data for over 43 million properties, the data tool shows users the price trends over the past four years as well as how frequently properties were listed in the last seven years. It also shows prices for similar listings in the area over the last seven years. A particularly useful function for consumers – the Price Atlas is enriched with data about the location. This allows users to find out more about the average age, average length of residence or the percentage distribution of marital status of people living in the vicinity of the address entered – which helps them to get to know their new neighbourhood better.

Next level chances

HOME STREET HOME – finding a home is the first step to escape homelessness

Homelessness is a particularly stressful form of social exclusion. As the market leader in real estate, we want to help everyone put a roof over their heads. With the HOME STREET HOME collaboration, we are using our reach to provide information about homelessness and housing concepts.

Go to Story
Next level efficiency

"With Vermietet.de we are creating a full-service, carefree package for landlords"

Go to story
Next level diversity & inclusion

"We want to create an inclusive environment for all people"

Go to story
Next level business model

Our business model: the digital ecosystem for real estate transactions

Go to story

Next level transparency

Mehr Transparenz auf dem Immobilienmarkt – dank dem ImmoScout24 WohnBarometer

Immobilienboom, Wohnungsknappheit, Preisanstieg: Der Immobilienmarkt ist in vielen Teilen Deutschlands angespannt. Das weiß nicht nur, wer in den vergangenen Jahren eine Wohnung oder ein Haus gesucht hat – es reicht, die Überschriften der Medienartikel zum Immobilienmarkt zu lesen. Doch warum steigen die Immobilienpreise in vielen Regionen immer weiter? Wie haben sich die Preise in den letzten Monaten in Deutschland entwickelt? Und was kommt in den nächsten zwölf Monaten auf uns zu?

Wir bei ImmoScout24 liefern Antworten auf diese Fragen. Mit Daten und Fakten, die Transparenz und Orientierung schaffen – beispielsweise mit unserem ImmoScout24 WohnBarometer. Unser WohnBarometer stellen wir einmal im Quartal kostenlos der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung. Zuständig für das WohnBarometer und weitere Marktanalysen ist unter anderen Kristian Kehlert. Gemeinsam mit seinem Team „Data & Analytics“ wertet er Tausende Daten aus und bereitet diese verständlich auf.

Was ist das ImmoScout24 WohnBarometer und wie ist es entstanden?

„Das WohnBarometer ist ein Marktreport zur Preisentwicklung von Wohnimmobilien in Deutschland. Es handelt sich um die Weiterentwicklung unseres IMX-Index, den wir vor über zehn Jahren eingeführt haben. Der Index basierte auf den Daten von mehr als 15 Millionen Inseraten, die auf unserer Plattform eingestellt wurden – von der Mietwohnung bis zum Einfamilienhaus. Allerdings hat dieser Preisindex, wie der Name schon sagt, nur Indexwerte angezeigt. Für Menschen, die sich nicht Tag für Tag mit Immobiliendaten auseinandersetzen, war das nicht besonders hilfreich. Deshalb haben wir den IMX aufs nächste Niveau gehoben und 2021 unter dem neuen Namen WohnBarometer eine bessere und verständlichere Version veröffentlicht.“

Was ist der Vorteil des ImmoScout24 WohnBarometers gegenüber dem IMX-Index?

„Der große Vorteil ist, dass das WohnBarometer die Preisentwicklung von Wohnimmobilien in realen Angebotspreisen wiedergibt und nicht in abstrakten Indexwerten. Wir haben das WohnBarometer zudem um einen Angebots-Nachfrage-Indikator ergänzt. Dadurch zeigen wir transparent, wie die Entwicklung von Preis und Nachfrage voneinander abhängt. Und weil es uns nicht genug ist, die Vergangenheit zu beleuchten, haben wir eine ausgefeilte Preisprognose ergänzt. Diese zeigt auf, wie sich die Preise in den kommenden zwölf Monaten entwickeln werden. Damit lassen sich Fragen beantworten wie „Kann ich es mir noch leisten, in dieser Stadt zu wohnen?“ oder „Wo könnte ich mir das in Zukunft leisten?“. Das WohnBarometer basiert wie der IMX weiterhin auf unseren umfangreichen Angebotsdaten und umfasst über 8,5 Millionen Inserate der letzten fünf Jahre auf ImmoScout24.“

Die Berechnung des ImmoScout24 WohnBarometers

Die Berechnung basiert auf Referenzobjekten für den jeweils betrachteten Immobilientyp. Grundlage für Wohnungen zum Kauf ist beispielsweise eine 3-Zimmer-Wohnung mit 80 Quadratmetern Wohnfläche. Für Mietwohnungen ist es eine 2-Zimmer-Bestandswohnung mit 70 Quadratmetern, weil dieses Objekt im Mietmarkt von höherer Relevanz ist. Die Preise berechnet ein Algorithmus aus dem Bereich des maschinellen Lernens. Um die Nachfrage zu ermitteln, betrachten wir die Kontaktanfragen, die innerhalb einer Woche pro Inserat eingehen. Um unterschiedliche Standzeiten der Immobilien auszugleichen, normieren wir den Wert.
 

Mehr Informationen zum ImmoScout24 Wohnbarometer

8,5
Millionen Inserate der letzten fünf Jahre umfasst das Daten-Tool.
100
deutsche Städte sollen in Zukunft über das WohnBarometer abgedeckt werden.

Warum sind Marktreports wie das ImmoScout24 WohnBarometer so wichtig?

„Ein Immobilienkauf oder -verkauf zählt zu den wichtigsten und emotionalsten Entscheidungen im Leben vieler Menschen. Er will gut durchdacht und abgesichert werden. Mit dem ImmoScout24 WohnBarometer bekommen Suchende ein Gefühl für den Immobilienmarkt und erhalten eine erste Indikation zu den Preisen. Mit unseren Daten und Fakten sorgen wir für Transparenz und Orientierung und helfen Menschen, die richtigen Entscheidungen zu treffen. Journalist:innen bieten wir mit unseren Marktreports wichtige Informationen für ihre Berichterstattung zum Immobilienmarkt in Deutschland.“

Was haben Sie sich beim WohnBarometer für die Zukunft vorgenommen?

„Ein großes Thema ist die regionale Ausrichtung des Reports. Deutschland ist geprägt von vielen regionalen Zentren und unterschiedlichen Entwicklungen – Stichwort „Stadt-Land-Gefälle“. Was für die Städte gilt und oft die Schlagzeilen bestimmt, muss für ländliche Regionen keine große Bedeutung haben. So bekommen wir ein differenzierteres Bild, das der Struktur Deutschlands Rechnung trägt. Deshalb planen wir, die Analyse in Zukunft auf bis zu 100 deutsche Städte auszuweiten und regionale Schwerpunkte zu setzen.“

43 Millionen Immobilien in nur einem Datentool – der kostenlose Preisatlas

Neben dem WohnBarometer bieten wir eine Reihe von weiteren Datenanalysen und Datentools an, die für Transparenz und Orientierung im Immobilienmarkt sorgen. Zum Beispiel den Preisatlas. Im Gegensatz zum WohnBarometer, das einen generellen Überblick bietet, erhalten unsere Nutzer:innen mit dem Preisatlas spezifische Informationen über Kauf- und Mietpreise sowie Preistrends für jede Adresse und jeden Stadtteil in ganz Deutschland. Das Datentool basiert auf den Daten für über 43 Millionen Immobilien. Neben der Preisentwicklung der letzten vier Jahre erfahren Nutzer:innen auch, wie häufig die Immobilien innerhalb der letzten sieben Jahre inseriert wurden. Zusätzlich werden die Preise für ähnliche Inserate in der Gegend in den letzten sieben Jahren angezeigt.

Für Suchende hält der Preisatlas eine besonders nützliche Funktion bereit: Er ist mit Umfelddaten angereichert. Damit erfahren Nutzer:innen mehr über das Durchschnittsalter, die durchschnittliche Wohndauer oder die prozentuale Verteilung des Familienstands der Menschen in der Umgebung der eingegebenen Adresse – und lernen damit ihre neue Nachbarschaft besser kennen.


Mehr Informationen zum Preisatlas

Next level chances

HOME STREET HOME - Obdachlosigkeit hört da auf, wo Wohnen wieder anfängt

Obdachlosigkeit ist eine besonders belastende Form der sozialen Ausgrenzung. Als Marktführer für Immobilien wollen wir allen Menschen helfen, ein Dach über dem Kopf zu finden. Mit der Kooperation HOME STREET HOME nutzen wir unsere Reichweite, um über Obdachlosigkeit und Wohnkonzepte zu informieren.

Zur Story
Next level efficiency

"Mit Vermietet.de schaffen wir ein Rundum-Sorglos-Paket für Vermieter:innen"

Zur Story
Next level diversity & inclusion

"Wir wollen ein inklusives Umfeld für alle Menschen schaffen"

Zur Story
Next level business model

Unser Geschäftsmodell: das digitale Ökosystem für Immobilientransaktionen

Zur Story