Capital Markets Day: Scout24 AG announces strengthening of verticals to shape the networked marketplace of the future

Capital Markets Day: Scout24 AG announces strengthening of verticals to shape the networked marketplace of the future

  • Scout24 details its strategic roadmap to strengthen its two leading verticals tapping into a larger total addressable market
  • Accelerated product innovation, streamlining of organizational structure and optimization of cost base will drive profitable growth
  • Confident to grow group revenues in the mid-teens by 2022, with group operating EBITDA margin to reach up to 58% in 2022
  • AutoScout24 with continued strong growth and profit expansion; strategic review ongoing

Munich/Berlin, 26th November 2019 – Scout24 AG (“Scout24”) is pursuing a successful profitable growth path. The company shares a positive outlook for 2020 and beyond at its Capital Markets Day in Munich. The Management Board expects Scout24’s dynamic and highly profitable growth to continue for its two leading verticals ImmoScout24 and AutoScout24. Group revenues are projected to increase by 8% to 11% in 2020. Revenue growth is expected to accelerate further to low- to mid-teens in 2021 and mid-teens in 2022. Group EBITDA margin from ordinary operating activities is expected to increase to up to 56% by 2020 and up to 58% by 2022.

As part of its strategic roadmap announced this summer, the Management Board outlines its key initiatives to benefit from industry trends driving the European digital classifieds markets. ImmoScout24 and AutoScout24 will offer a whole suite of new products and services designed to increase their total addressable markets, simplify the consumer journey, strengthen customer relationships, thereby resulting in attractive profitable growth for the group.

In addition, Scout24 is driving operational excellence, currently executing a cost optimisation program for its two verticals to operate in a leaner and more agile structure. This includes the reintegration of Consumer Services. All measures are fully on track to deliver an expected EUR 20 million of annual cost savings by 2021.

Scout24 is committed to a value-accretive capital allocation, by reinvesting into growth and returning cash to its shareholders through its dividend policy and announced share buy-back programme, whilst targeting a long-term leverage of up to 3.5x.

“We are the leading online classifieds group in Europe. With our two verticals, we are building on very strong brands. We are shaping the networked marketplace of the future by enhancing our product offering, driving monetization and improving operational excellence. Scout24 has consistently been and will be at the forefront of technological innovation as well as customer and consumer centricity. We have a proven track record of uninterrupted double-digit growth. We will further expand our market leadership of ImmoScout24 in Germany and AutoScout24 across Europe through a number of new product and service launches. We are building the ecosystem for real estate in Germany whilst also driving innovation across the consumer and customer journey for AutoScout24.”

Tobias Hartmann, CEO of Scout24 AG

“We are improving scalability and efficiency for the whole group to drive margin improvement and strong cash flow generation. Therefore, we maintain a positive outlook for 2020 and beyond. We strongly believe the strategic direction and corresponding initiatives will be beneficial to our customers and consumers. Our actions will strengthen our overall investment proposition and enhance growth and profitability. This will create attractive long-term value for our shareholders.”

Dirk Schmelzer, CFO of Scout24 AG

ImmoScout24: Building the ecosystem for real estate in Germany
ImmoScout24 continues to be a highly profitable growth driver for Scout24. The leading German classifieds platform serving home owners, agents and customers through its proven track-record of more than 20 years in the German real estate market and its ability to drive innovation, is at the forefront of building a comprehensive ecosystem for sale, rent and business real estate in Germany. Future growth will be supported by continued increase in the number of agents, ARPA and penetration of on-top products, in addition to a strengthened position in Private Listings.

AutoScout24: Driving innovation across the consumer and customer journey
AutoScout24 has established and maintained a leading position across its key European markets over the last ten years, consistently delivering double-digit growth and margin expansion. Today, it is well placed to lead the next phase of an evolving European car classifieds marketplace. AutoScout24 has a clear value proposition based on innovation, access to all relevant markets, and being a trusted partner to market participants. It will continue to leverage this position to benefit from trends in mobility and digitization. With concrete initiatives to create value, AutoScout24 has an excellent foundation for its next phase of profitable growth.

Regarding the strategic review of AutoScout24, Scout24 has defined an organic value creation plan and concurrently initiated a process to explore a potential sale or separation of the business. This process is ongoing and Scout24 is carefully and diligently weighing options for AutoScout24 to maximise long-term shareholder value creation.

From November 27th on, you can find a recap of today’s Capital Markets Day presentations and speeches on: Investor-Relations/events/capital-markets-day/Capital-Markets-Day.aspx

About Scout24
With our leading digital marketplaces ImmoScout24 in Germany and Austria and AutoScout24 across Europe, we are creating a networked marketplace for living and mobility. With more than 1,500 employees we empower our users to find their new home or their new car quickly and easily. Besides, we offer additional services, such as the brokerage of relocation services or housing and car financing. Scout24 AG is a publicly-listed stock corporation and member of the MDAX. For further information, please visit www.scout24.com, our Corporate Blog and Tech Blog or follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Media relations
Jan Flaskamp
Vice President Communications & Marketing
Tel.: +49 30 24301 0721
Email: mediarelations@scout24.com

Investor relation
Ursula Querette
Head of Investor Relations
Tel.: +49 89 44456 3278
E-Mail: ir@scout24.com

Disclaimer
All information contained in this document has been carefully prepared. However, no reliance may be placed for any purposes whatsoever on the information contained in this document or on its completeness. No representation or warranty, express or implied, is given by or on behalf of the Company or any of its directors, officers or employees or any other person as to the accuracy and/or completeness of the information contained in this document and no liability whatsoever is accepted by the Company or any of its directors, officers or employees nor any other person for any loss howsoever arising, directly or indirectly, from any use of such information or opinions or otherwise arising in connection therewith.

The information contained in this release is subject to amendment, revision and updating. Certain statements, beliefs and opinions in this document are forward-looking, which reflect the Company's or, as appropriate, senior management's current expectations and projections about future events. By their nature, forward-looking statements involve a number of risks, uncertainties, assumptions and other factors that could cause actual results, including but not limited to the Company's financial position or profitability, to differ materially, also adversely, from those expressed or implied by the forward-looking statements. Statements contained in this document regarding past trends or activities should not be taken as a representation that such trends or activities will continue in the future. The Company does not undertake any obligation to update or revise any information contained in this document (including forward-looking statements), whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise. You should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date of this press release.

Scout24 also uses alternative performance measures, not defined by IFRS, to describe the Scout24 Group's results of operations. These should not be viewed in isolation, but treated as supplementary information. The special items used to calculate some alternative performance measures arise from the integration of acquired businesses, restructuring measures, impairments, gains or losses resulting from divestitures and sales of shareholdings, and other expenses and income that generally do not arise in conjunction with Scout24's ordinary business activities. Alternative performance measures used by Scout24 are defined in the "Glossary" section of Scout24's Group Interim Report 2019 which is available at www.scout24.com/finanzberichte.

Due to rounding, numbers presented throughout this statement may not add up precisely to the totals indicated, and percentages may not precisely reflect the absolute figures for the same reason. Information on the quarterly financials has not been subject to audit and is thus preliminary.

Kapitalmarkttag 2019: Scout24 AG gestaltet vernetzte Marktplätze der Zukunft

Kapitalmarkttag 2019: Scout24 AG gestaltet vernetzte Marktplätze der Zukunft

  • Scout24 erläutert strategische Roadmap zur Stärkung der beiden Geschäftsfelder, um einen größeren Markt zu erschließen
  • Beschleunigte Produktinnovation, gestraffte Organisationsstruktur und optimierte Kostenbasis für mehr profitables Wachstum
  • Scout24 zuversichtlich, Konzernumsatz bis 2022 im mittleren Zehnerprozentbereich zu steigern, operative EBITDA-Marge des Konzerns soll im Jahr 2022 bis zu 58% erreichen
  • AutoScout24 mit anhaltend starkem Wachstum und Gewinnsteigerung; strategische Überprüfung im Gange

München / Berlin, 26. November 2019 – Die Scout24 AG ("Scout24") setzt ihren erfolgreichen, profitablen Wachstumskurs fort und gibt auf ihrem Kapitalmarkttag in München einen positiven Ausblick für 2020 und darüber hinaus bekannt. Für die beiden führenden Geschäftsfelder ImmoScout24 und AutoScout24 erwartet der Vorstand eine Fortsetzung des dynamischen und hochprofitablen Wachstums. Der Konzernumsatz soll bis 2020 um 8% bis 11% steigen. Scout24 plant, dass sich das Umsatzwachstum auf einen niedrigen bis mittleren Zehnerprozentbereich im Jahr 2021 sowie auf einen mittleren Zehnerprozentbereich im Jahr 2022 beschleunigen wird. Die EBITDA-Marge des Konzerns aus gewöhnlicher Geschäftstätigkeit soll 2020 auf bis zu 56% und 2022 auf bis zu 58% steigen.

Im Sommer hatte Scout24 eine neue strategische Roadmap zur langfristigen Wertsteigerung angekündigt. Im Rahmen des Kapitalmarkttages stellt der Vorstand die wichtigsten Initiativen vor, um Trends in den europäischen Online-Rubrikenmärkten gewinnbringend zu nutzen. Die beiden Geschäftsfelder ImmoScout24 und AutoScout24 werden eine Vielzahl neuer Produkte und Dienstleistungen anbieten, um einen größeren Markt zu erschließen, die Consumer Journey zu vereinfachen sowie die Kundenbeziehungen zu stärken. Dies wird zu weiterem attraktiven und profitablen Wachstum für die Gruppe führen.

Darüber hinaus treibt Scout24 die operative Umsetzung voran und führt derzeit ein Programm zur Kostenoptimierung durch. Das Ziel ist es, eine klar auf zwei Geschäftsfelder fokussierte Organisation sowie eine schlankere und agilere Unternehmensstruktur zu schaffen. Dazu gehört auch, dass der Bereich Consumer Services in die beiden Geschäftsfelder integriert wird. Alle Maßnahmen sind voll auf Kurs, um bis 2021 jährliche Kosteneinsparungen in Höhe von 20 Millionen Euro zu erzielen.

Scout24 verfolgt zudem eine wertsteigernde Kapitalstruktur, die neben Dividenden und angekündigten Aktienrückkäufen vor allem Investitionen in Wachstum vorsieht. Langfristig ist geplant, einen maximalen Verschuldungsgrad von 3,5:1 nicht zu überschreiten. 

“Wir sind die führende Gruppe für Online-Marktplätze in Europa. Unsere beiden Geschäftsfelder bauen auf sehr starken Marken auf. Wir gestalten den vernetzten Marktplatz der Zukunft, indem wir unser Produktangebot und unsere Wertschöpfung ausbauen sowie unsere operative Umsetzung verbessern. Scout24 war und ist stets an der Spitze der technologischen Innovationen. Unser Fokus liegt auf den Bedürfnissen unserer Kunden. Wir verfügen über eine klare Erfolgsbilanz mit ungebrochenem zweistelligen Wachstum und werden durch eine Vielzahl neuer Produkte und Dienstleistungen die Marktführerschaft von ImmoScout24 in Deutschland und AutoScout24 in Europa weiter ausbauen. Bei ImmoScout24 schaffen wir ein umfassendes Ecosystem für Immobilien in Deutschland. Bei AutoScout24 treiben wir die Innovationen in der Consumer und Customer Journey weiter voran.”

Tobias Hartmann, CEO der Scout24 AG

"Wir verbessern die Skalierbarkeit und Effizienz für die gesamte Gruppe. Dadurch steigern wir unsere Margen und generieren einen starken Cashflow. Daher geben wir einen positiven Ausblick für 2020 und darüber hinaus. Wir sind fest davon überzeugt, dass unsere Kunden und Verbraucher von der strategischen Ausrichtung und den entsprechenden Initiativen profitieren werden. Durch unsere Maßnahmen werden wir für Investoren noch interessanter und steigern Wachstum sowie Profitabilität. So schaffen wir langfristigen Wert für unsere Aktionäre.”

Dirk Schmelzer, CFO der Scout24 AG

ImmoScout24: Aufbau des Ecosystems für Immobilien in Deutschland
ImmoScout24 bleibt weiterhin ein hochprofitabler Wachstumstreiber für Scout24. Das Geschäftsfeld ist der führende deutsche Online-Marktplatz für Hausbesitzer, Makler und Kunden und verfügt über eine 20 Jahre andauernde Erfolgsgeschichte auf dem deutschen Immobilienmarkt. Mit ihrer Innovationskraft steht ImmoScout24 an der Spitze beim Aufbau eines umfassenden Ecosystems für Kauf, Miete und Gewerbeimmobilien. Das zukünftige Wachstum wird durch eine höhere Anzahl an Maklerkunden, einem steigenden durchschnittlichen Umsatz pro Makler (ARPA), einer Erhöhung des Umsatzanteils von Mehrwertprodukten (OTP) sowie durch eine gestärkte Position bei privaten Immobilieninseraten unterstützt.

AutoScout24: Innovationsschub für Consumer und Customer Journey
AutoScout24 hat sich in den letzten zehn Jahren in seinen europäischen Schlüsselmärkten eine führende Position aufgebaut sowie stets zweistellige Wachstumsraten und Margensteigerungen erzielt. Heute ist die Plattform gut positioniert, um den sich weiterentwickelnden europäischen Online-Automarkt in Zukunft anzuführen. AutoScout24 bietet ein klares Leistungsversprechen, das auf Innovation, Zugang zu allen relevanten Märkten und dem Vertrauen der Marktteilnehmer basiert. AutoScout24 wird diese Position weiterhin nutzen, um von den Trends im Bereich Mobilität sowie der Digitalisierung zu profitieren. Mit konkreten Initiativen zur Wertschöpfung verfügt AutoScout24 über eine hervorragende Grundlage für die nächste Phase des profitablen Wachstums.

Im Rahmen der strategischen Überprüfung von AutoScout24 hat Scout24 einen Plan für organische Wertschöpfung definiert und gleichzeitig einen Prozess eingeleitet, in dem ein möglicher Verkauf oder eine Abtrennung des Geschäftsfelds untersucht wird. Dieser Prozess ist im Gange und Scout24 prüft sorgfältig und gewissenhaft alle Optionen mit dem Ziel, langfristige Wertschöpfung für die Aktionäre zu maximieren.

Eine Zusammenfassung der Präsentationen und Reden des heutigen Kapitalmarkttages finden Sie ab dem 27.11.2019 unter: www.scout24.com/Investor-Relations/Events/Kapitalmarkttag/Kapitalmarkttag.aspx

Über Scout24
Mit unseren führenden digitalen Marktplätzen ImmoScout24 in Deutschland und Österreich sowie AutoScout24 in Europa, schaffen wir ein vernetztes Angebot für Wohnen und Mobilität. Über 1.500 Mitarbeiter ermöglichen unseren Nutzern, schnell und einfach in ihr neues Zuhause oder zu ihrem neuen Auto zu kommen. Darüber hinaus bieten wir zusätzliche Leistungen an, wie die Vermittlung von Umzugsservices oder Bau- und Autofinanzierungen. Die Scout24 AG ist eine börsennotierte Aktiengesellschaft (ISIN: DE000A12DM80, Ticker: G24) und Mitglied im MDAX. Weitere Informationen unter www.scout24.com, auf unserem Corporate Blog und Tech Blog oder auf Twitter und LinkedIn.

Ansprechpartner für Medien
Jan Flaskamp
Vice President Communications & Marketing
Tel.: +49 30 24301 0721
E-Mail: mediarelations@scout24.com

Ansprechpartner für Investor Relations
Ursula Querette
Head of Investor Relations
Tel.: +49 89 44456 3278             
E-Mail: ir@scout24.com

Disclaimer
Die in diesem Dokument enthaltenen Informationen sind sorgfältig ermittelt worden. Es wird jedoch keine Haftung irgendeiner Art übernommen für die hierin enthaltenen Informationen und/oder ihre Vollständigkeit. Die Gesellschaft, ihre Organmitglieder, Führungskräfte und Mitarbeiter und sonstige Personen geben keine Garantie oder Zusicherung, weder ausdrücklich noch konkludent, für die Richtigkeit und/oder Vollständigkeit der hierin enthaltenen Informationen ab und jegliche Haftung für jeglichen Schaden oder Verlust, der direkt oder indirekt aus dem Gebrauch dieser Informationen oder daraus in anderer Weise abgeleiteter Meinungen resultiert, ist ausgeschlossen.

Die in dieser Mitteilung enthaltenen Informationen können jederzeit geändert, revidiert oder aktualisiert werden. Einige in diesem Dokument wiedergegebene Darstellungen enthalten in die Zukunft gerichtete Aussagen, die die derzeitigen Erwartungen und Planungen der Gesellschaft bzw. des Senior Managements der Gesellschaft in Bezug auf künftige Ereignisse widerspiegeln. Solche in die Zukunft gerichteten Aussagen unterliegen naturgemäß Risiken, Ungewissheiten, Annahmen und anderen Faktoren, die dazu führen können, dass die tatsächlichen Ergebnisse einschließlich der Finanzlage und der Profitabilität der Gesellschaft wesentlich von denjenigen abweichen, und auch negativer ausfallen können als diejenigen, die in diesen Aussagen ausdrücklich oder implizit angenommen oder beschrieben werden. Aussagen, die in diesem Dokument enthalten sind, die sich auf vergangene Entwicklungen oder Aktivitäten beziehen, dürfen nicht als Zusicherung verstanden werden, dass diese Entwicklungen oder Aktivitäten in Zukunft andauern oder fortgesetzt werden. Die Gesellschaft übernimmt keine wie auch immer geartete Verpflichtung, irgendwelche Informationen (einschließlich der in die Zukunft gerichteten Aussagen), die in dieser Pressemitteilung enthalten sind, zu aktualisieren oder zu korrigieren, sei es als Ergebnis neuer Informationen, zukünftiger Ereignisse oder aus sonstigen Gründen. In die Zukunft gerichteten Aussagen und Darstellungen, die sich lediglich auf das Datum dieser Mitteilung beziehen, sollten Sie nicht über Gebühr vertrauen.

Scout24 verwendet zur Erläuterung der Ertragskennzahlen auch alternative Leistungskennzahlen, die nicht nach IFRS definiert sind. Diese sollten nicht isoliert, sondern als ergänzende Information betrachtet werden. Sondereinflüsse, die für die Ermittlung einiger alternativer Leistungskennzahlen verwendet werden, resultieren aus der Integration erworbener Unternehmen, Restrukturierungen, außerplanmäßigen Abschreibungen, dem Veräußerungsergebnis bei Devestitionen und Beteiligungsverkäufen sowie sonstigen Aufwendungen und Erträgen außerhalb des gewöhnlichen Geschäftsbetriebs von Scout24. Die von Scout24 verwendeten alternativen Leistungskennzahlen sind im Kapitel „Glossar“ des Scout24 Konzern-Zwischenlageberichts 2019 definiert, der unter www.scout24.com/finanzberichte öffentlich verfügbar ist.

Aufgrund von Rundungsdifferenzen ist es möglich, dass bei der Summierung der in diesem Bericht veröffentlichten Einzelpositionen Unterschiede zu den angegebenen Summen auftreten und aus diesem Grund auch Prozentsätze nicht die genaue Entwicklung der absoluten Zahlen widerspiegeln. Informationen zu den Quartalskennzahlen wurden keiner prüferischen Durchsicht unterzogen und sind somit vorläufig.