Focus on customers

#TogetherThroughTheCrisis – Scout24 takes responsibility for the industry

The date is 20 March 2020. The number of people infected with the coronavirus in Germany has reached an initial peak. Strict curfews and social distancing rules are leading to deserted streets across the country. As long as “Stay at home” remains the motto, it’s difficult to even consider apartment viewings. Uncertainty caused by government-subsidised reductions in working hours and fear of job loss have led to more than one move or property purchase being postponed indefinitely. This was reflected in the real estate market as soon as the first lockdown began: supply and demand for residential and commercial real estate fell noticeably in mid-March. Alarm bells were ringing.

Covid-19 immediate-action programme for customers and partners

"To manage the repercussions of the Covid 19 pandemic and mitigate the impact of the crisis on our customers and partners, we have acted quickly and developed a comprehensive action plan,” explains Ralf Weitz, Managing Director of ImmoScout24 and member of the Management Board of Scout24 AG. “One component comprised the immediate-action programmes for our customers and partners that we unveiled in March and April 2020.”

The first programme was based on three pillars:

  1. Liquidity Plus: the deferral of invoices on request for partner agents to cushion their financial losses
  2. Listing Plus: free listings offered to private clients to stimulate market activity and demand, as well as to give agents the opportunity to attract new clients
  3. Leads Plus: free owner leads for our existing partner agents to accelerate the post-crisis relaunch

In April, a fourth pillar was added: Service Plus – our offer to purchase extended memberships at attractive rates or to upgrade to professional membership plans.

Covid-19 immediate-action programme

The programmes quickly made an impact: “More than 1,300 agents took advantage of our Liquidity Plus offer to have their monthly bills deferred. Thanks to our Listing Plus programme for free-of-charge listings from private sellers, we had an attractive volume of listings in our marketplace. In the first half of the year, the number of rental offers increased by 4 percent compared with the previous year,” Ralf Weitz sums up.

In retrospect, the German residential real estate market recovered quickly during the crisis. Demand and supply were back at pre-Corona levels just a few weeks after the start of the crisis – and in some cases well above them. “We could not have foreseen with certainty at the beginning of the coronavirus pandemic that the real estate market would prove so robust and resilient. Therefore, it was important for us to give our partners and customers orientation and to keep the offering attractive for our millions of users”, Ralf Weitz emphasises.

1300
agents took advantage of our Liquidity Plus offer to have their monthly bills deferred.
+ 4 %
rental offers were listed on our platform in the first half of 2020 – partly thanks to our Listings Plus initiative.

"The fact that most of our solutions are already digital and contactless has spared us major disruptions."

Dr. Thomas Schroeter, Chief Product Officer at Scout24

ImmoScout24’s partners and customers not only benefited from the support programmes during the coronavirus crisis, but also from the fact that the platform has been driving the digitalisation of the real estate market for over 20 years with innovative online products. With live digital property viewings and 360° tours, for example, users can view properties from the comfort of their homes. We highlighted these opportunities for socially-distanced viewing even more prominently in listings from the very outset of the coronavirus pandemic. Since May, the ImmoScout24 app has also offered an integrated live viewing option. In addition, as part of our customer profiles and Plus memberships, we offer the digital transfer of documents, a digital application folder, digital credit ratings and digital applicant management. “The fact that most of our solutions are already digital and contactless has been a huge advantage for all market participants during the lockdowns and has spared us major disruptions,” says Dr. Thomas Schroeter, Managing Director of ImmoScout24 and Member of the Management Board of Scout24 AG.

#TogetherThroughTheCrisis: unusual times require strong alliances

Nevertheless, the coronavirus crisis has served to highlight one thing in particular: the steps and processes involved in real estate transactions are still far too analogue, manual and bureaucratic in many areas. In this respect, the entire industry is in urgent need of a digitalisation and modernisation drive. With this in mind, ImmoScout24 has drawn up a position paper together with leading associations and companies in the real estate sector as a further component of the Covid action plan and presented it to policymakers and the public.

In the position paper, under the motto #TogetherThroughTheCrisis, we show ways in which processes and services in the real estate industry and the sector as a whole can be digitalised successfully. Policymakers and public administrations have taken action in some areas in the interim: for instance, the new Act on the Ownership of Apartments and the Permanent Residential Right (WEG) now also provides for the possibility of virtual owners’ meetings.

The bottom line is that there is no avoiding the advance of digitalisation – and the real estate sector is no exception. And there’s still plenty of potential for further digitisation. 

ImmoScout24 takes responsibility

“Even though the German real estate market proved to be very stable and dynamic during the coronavirus crisis, we feel that ImmoScout24, as the market leader in Germany, has a responsibility to contribute to a prosperous development of the real estate market. Be it with product innovations, unbureaucratic assistance programmes or joint initiatives with other market players,” explains Dr. Thomas Schroeter. “After all, housing is a basic need, and real estate is an important component of retirement planning. For a healthy and strong economy, we need an equally healthy and stable real estate industry.”

Joint initiative of the real estate industry

The #TogetherThroughTheCrisis alliance is the first industry-wide initiative of its kind. The following companies and associations participated: ImmoScout24, the Federal Association for the Real Estate Industry (BVFI), eBay Classifieds, Flowfact, the German Federal Association of German Housing and Real Estate Companies (GdW), Immowelt, the German Real Estate Association (IVD), Sprengnetter, the German Association of Property Managers (VDIV Germany) and the Central Real Estate Committee (ZIA)

Focus on digitisation

How we stayed in touch with our stakeholders virtually in 2020

Social distancing – standard operating procedure during the pandemic. But it is also possible to share information, discuss ideas, and even celebrate at a distance. In 2020, we showed how with new virtual formats.

Go to story
Focus on sustainability

“Avoid, reduce, compensate” – Scout24 on the way to climate neutrality

Coming soon

Focus on culture & diversity

Success is secured together: our Scout24 DNA

Coming soon

Focus on market leadership

Our business model – we’re building the real estate ecosystem

Coming soon

Focus on customers

#GemeinsamDurchDieKrise – Scout24 übernimmt Verantwortung für die Branche

Es ist der 20. März 2020. Die Zahl der mit dem Coronavirus infizierten Menschen in Deutschland hat einen ersten Höchststand erreicht. Strenge Ausgangsbeschränkungen und Kontaktverbote sorgen für menschenleere Straßen im ganzen Land. Wenn die Devise der Stunde lautet „Wir bleiben zu Hause“, ist an Wohnungsbesichtigungen kaum noch zu denken. Unsicherheit wegen Kurzarbeit und Angst vor Arbeitsplatzverlust lassen den ein oder anderen Umzug oder Immobilienkauf vorübergehend in weite Ferne rücken. Das schlug sich gerade zu Beginn des ersten Lockdowns auf den Immobilienmarkt nieder: Angebot und Nachfrage nach Wohn- und Gewerbeimmobilien gingen Mitte März spürbar zurück. Ein Alarmsignal.

Covid-19-Hilfsprogramme für Kunden und Partner 

„Um die Folgen der Covid-19-Pandemie zu bewältigen und die Wucht der Krise auf unsere Kund:innen und Partner:innen abzuschwächen, haben wir schnell gehandelt und einen umfassenden Aktionsplan ausgearbeitet“, erklärt Ralf Weitz, Geschäftsführer von ImmoScout24 und Mitglied des Vorstands der Scout24 AG. „Eine Komponente waren die Sofortprogramme für unsere Kund:innen, die wir im März und April 2020 vorgestellt haben.“

Das erste Hilfsprogramm beruhte auf drei Säulen:

  1. „Liquidität Plus“: die Stundung von Rechnungen auf Anfrage für Maklerkund:innen, um deren finanzielle Einbußen abzufedern;
  2. „Listing Plus“: das Angebot kostenloser Inserate für Privatkund:innen, um die Marktaktivität und Nachfrage anzukurbeln sowie Makler:innen die Möglichkeit zu geben, Neukund:innen zu gewinnen;
  3. „Leads Plus“: kostenlose Eigentümer:innenkontakte für unsere bestehenden Maklerkund:innen zur Beschleunigung des Neustarts nach der Krise.

Im April kam noch eine vierte Säule hinzu: „Leistung Plus“ – unser Angebot, erweiterte Mitgliedschaften zu attraktiven Konditionen zu erwerben oder in die höheren Profi-Mitgliedschaften zu wechseln.

Ralf Weitz, Chief Commercial Officer Scout24

Sofortprogramm für die Immobilienbranche

Die Hilfsprogramme zeigten rasch Wirkung: „Über 1.300 gewerbliche Kund:innen nutzten unser ‚Liquidität Plus‘-Angebot, um einen Zahlungsaufschub für ihre Monatsrechnungen zu erhalten. Durch unser ‚Listing Plus‘-Programm für kostenlose Inserate privater Anbieter:innen hatten wir ein attraktives Angebotsvolumen auf unserem Marktplatz. Im ersten Halbjahr ist die Anzahl der Mietangebote im Vergleich zum Vorjahr um 4 Prozent gestiegen“, zieht Ralf Weitz Bilanz.

Heute wissen wir: Der deutsche Immobilienmarkt für Wohnimmobilien hat sich in der Krise schnell erholt. Nachfrage und Angebot lagen bereits wenige Wochen nach Beginn der Krise wieder auf dem Niveau vor Corona – und zum Teil deutlich darüber. „Dass sich der Immobilienmarkt derart robust und widerstandsfähig zeigt, konnten wir zu Beginn der Coronapandemie nicht mit Sicherheit vorhersagen. Daher war es für uns wichtig, unseren Partner:innen und Kund:innen Orientierung zu geben und das Angebot für unsere Millionen von Nutzer:innen attraktiv zu halten“, macht Ralf Weitz deutlich.

1300
gewerbliche Kund:innen haben unser „Liquidität plus“-Angebot in Anspruch genommen
4 %
mehr Mietangebote gab es im 1. Halbjahr 2020 auf der ImmoScout24-Plattform – auch dank der „Listings Plus“-Initiative

„Die Tatsache, dass die meisten unserer Lösungen schon heute digital und kontaktlos funktionieren, hat uns vor größeren Einbrüchen bewahrt.“

Dr. Thomas Schroeter, Chief Product Officer Scout24

Die Partner:innen und Kund:innen von ImmoScout24 haben während der Coronakrise nicht nur von den beiden Hilfsprogrammen profitiert, sondern auch davon, dass die Plattform die Digitalisierung des Immobilienmarkts seit über 20 Jahren mit innovativen Onlineprodukten vorantreibt. Mit einer digitalen Live-Besichtigung sowie 360-Grad-Rundgängen kann man sich Immobilien beispielsweise bequem von den eigenen vier Wänden aus ansehen. Wir haben diese Möglichkeiten der kontaktlosen Besichtigung gleich zu Beginn der Coronapandemie noch deutlicher in den Inseraten ausgewiesen. Die Live-Besichtigung ist seit Mai direkt innerhalb der ImmoScout24-App möglich. Zudem bieten wir im Rahmen unserer Kundenprofile und Plus-Mitgliedschaften den digitalen Versand von Dokumenten, eine digitale Bewerbermappe, digitale Bonitätsauskünfte sowie das digitale Bewerbermanagement. „Die Tatsache, dass die meisten unserer Lösungen schon heute digital und kontaktlos funktionieren, war in Zeiten von Ausgangsbeschränkungen ein immenser Vorteil für alle Marktteilnehmer:innen und hat uns vor größeren Einbrüchen bewahrt“, erklärt Dr. Thomas Schroeter, Geschäftsführer von ImmoScout24 und Mitglied des Vorstands der Scout24 AG.

#GemeinsamDurchDieKrise: Ungewöhnliche Zeiten erfordern starke Allianzen

Und dennoch hat die Coronakrise eines besonders deutlich gemacht: Die Schritte und Abläufe bei Immobilientransaktionen sind in vielen Bereichen noch viel zu analog, manuell und bürokratisch. Hier braucht die gesamte Branche dringend einen Digitalisierungs- und Modernisierungsschub. Um das zu erreichen, hat ImmoScout24 als weitere Komponente des Corona-Aktionsplans mit führenden Verbänden und Unternehmen der Immobilienbranche ein Positionspapier erarbeitet und an die Politik und Öffentlichkeit herangetragen.

In dem Positionspapier haben wir unter dem Motto #GemeinsamDurchDieKrise Wege aufgezeigt, wie eine erfolgreiche Digitalisierung der Branche, der Prozesse und der Services in der Immobilienwirtschaft gelingen kann. Politik und Verwaltungen haben in einigen Bereichen inzwischen gehandelt: So sieht das neue Wohneigentumsgesetz (WEG) nun auch die Möglichkeit virtueller Eigentümer:innnenversammlungen vor.

Fakt ist: An der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung kommt niemand vorbei – auch die Immobilienbranche nicht. Und das Potenzial für die weitere Digitalisierung ist noch lange nicht ausgeschöpft. 

ImmoScout24 übernimmt Verantwortung

„Auch wenn sich der deutsche Immobilienmarkt in der Coronakrise sehr stabil und dynamisch gezeigt hat, sehen wir uns mit ImmoScout24 als Marktführer in Deutschland in der Verantwortung, zu einer prosperierenden Entwicklung des Immobilienmarkts beizutragen. Sei es mit Produktinnovationen, unbürokratischen Hilfsprogrammen oder gemeinsamen Initiativen mit anderen Marktteilnehmern“, erklärt Dr. Thomas Schroeter. „Denn Wohnen ist ein Grundbedürfnis, und Immobilien sind ein wesentlicher Baustein der Altersvorsorge. Für eine gesunde und starke Volkswirtschaft brauchen wir eine genauso gesunde und stabile Immobilienwirtschaft.“

Gemeinsame Initiative der Immobilienbranche

Der Zusammenschluss #GemeinsamDurchDieKrise ist die erste branchenweite Initiative seiner Art. Folgende Unternehmen und Verbände haben sich daran beteiligt: ImmoScout24, Bundesverband für die Immobilienwirtschaft (BVFI), eBay Kleinanzeigen, Flowfact, der Bundesverband deutscher Wohnungs- und Immobilienunternehmen (GdW), Immowelt, der Immobilienverband Deutschland (IVD), Sprengnetter, der Verband der Immobilienverwalter Deutschland (VDIV Deutschland) und der Zentrale Immobilien Ausschuss (ZIA)

Mehr Infos
Focus on digitisation

Wie wir 2020 virtuell mit unseren Stakeholdern in Kontakt geblieben sind

Abstand halten – in Corona-Zeiten das Motto der Stunde. Doch sich austauschen, informieren, diskutieren und sogar feiern geht auch auf Distanz. Wie, das haben wir 2020 mit neuen virtuellen Formaten gezeigt.

Zur Story
Focus on sustainability

„Vermeiden, reduzieren, kompensieren“ – Scout24 auf dem Weg zur Klimaneutralität

Coming soon

Focus on culture & diversity

Erfolg entsteht gemeinsam: unser Scout24-DNA Culture Code

Coming soon

Focus on market leadership

Unser Geschäftsmodell – wir bauen das Ökosystem für Immobilien

Coming soon